跳到主要内容

Project Management and Collaboration

Introduction

In daily scientific research and teaching, teachers/students often have the following needs:

  1. How to centrally manage the funds of several people and set budgets: for example, members of the same research group, students participating in a course or workshop together, they need to use the funds of a project together;
  2. How can members involved in the same research topic conveniently and "painlessly" use the code developed by other members;
  3. It would be great if the teacher could log in directly to check the problem when their own code doesn't work.

To meet these needs, Bohrium provides a series of tools to help you complete project collaboration and improve team efficiency. All team collaborations are based on projects, and we first need to create a project.

Creating a Project

After completing Bohrium account registration and top-up, click on "Projects" in the navigation bar on the Bohrium homepage (red box 1 in the picture), and select "New Project" in the upper right corner of the page (red box 2 in the picture).

createproject

In the pop-up window, give the project a name that is easy for you to recognize (such as the name of your research group, course or project), and click "OK". You can also enter the "Total Budget" of the project at this time (all members of the project will share this budget).

new project

If you set a total budget for the project, members will not be able to submit new jobs or start new nodes when the total project cost exceeds the budget.

When the remaining budget of the project is less than 100 yuan, Bohrium will send a reminder email to the registered email of the project leader, please pay attention in time to avoid affecting the job submission of project members.

Project Roles and Permissions Description

There are currently 3 roles in the project:

  1. Creator: The user who creates the project is the creator of the project. A project must have and only have one creator, and this role cannot be transferred to others or deleted.
  2. Administrator: Appointed by the creator, a project can have multiple administrators, which is not a mandatory role and can be appointed or removed at any time.
  3. Member: Users added to the project are by default in this role.

The specific permissions of each role are as follows:

Symbol explanation: √ means that the role has this permission; X means that the role does not have this permission.

Function ModulePermission ContentCreatorAdministratorMember
Project ManagementModify project nameX
Project ManagementDelete projectXX
Project Member ManagementAdd or delete project membersX
Project Member ManagementAppoint or cancel project administratorsXX
Project Budget ManagementView the overall and individual consumption of the project
Adjust the overall and individual budget amounts of the project
X
Project Node ManagementView and operate all management nodes within the project: such as logging into management nodes, shutting down, deleting, etc.X
Project Job ManagementView and operate all jobs within the project: such as logging into computing nodes, viewing logs, downloading files, etc.X
Project Image ManagementView and operate all images within the project: such as sharing, deletingX
Project Expense BillView and download the project's consumption billX

Add/Remove Members

If the project has other collaborators (such as course assistants, team members, or students in a course or workshop), you can click on the "Project Member Management" button (circled in red in the figure) to enter the member management page for operations.

Enter image description

On the member management page, you can add project members in bulk (red box 1 in the figure), delete them in bulk, set administrators (red box 2 in the figure), and view the budget and expenses of each member within the organization. For differences between roles, please check the role permission description.

Enter image description

Member Budget

The creator and administrators of the project can allocate the consumable budget for the project and its members, so as to control the overall spending. You can click on the "Project Budget" button (circled in red in the figure) to set it.

Enter image description

In the "Project Budget" settings window, click on the "Divide evenly" button to evenly distribute the total project budget to all members (for example, when teaching a course, you can allocate the same budget to each student); you can also set individual budget amounts for each member.

Distribute the budget evenly to all members:

Enter image description

Set different budgets for different members:

Enter image description

Shared Images

All members within the project can view and use the images created by other teammates in the same project in the Bohrium "Images" - "Custom Images". This allows for a more convenient way to set up a consistent working environment, debug code, or directly deploy in a production environment.

Image description

Delete Project

When you finish a project, you can click the "Delete" button (the red circle in the picture) to delete the project and disband the members within the project. However, after the project is deleted, all jobs and images within the project will be permanently deleted and cannot be viewed. The deletion operation is irreversible, so please be cautious.

Image description